Homepage > 0203 > Articles

Player of the Year

2002-03 Season

Pictures by Chris Holland

On Saturday, 21 April it was Barnet's last home game of the season. After the game (0-0 against Woking - a vital point that kept Woking in the leauge) the BFCSA presented their annual awards to the players.

The winners are chosen by the fans by completing voting slips and the results are as follows:

Most Improved Player - Lee Pluck


  • 2nd Neil Midgley
  • 3rd Ismail Yakubu
  • 4th Craig Pope


  Goal of the Season - Toby Oshitola (v Telford at Home)


Description of Oshitola'a goal from the Non-league Paper (08/09/02):

"Toby Oshitola's wonder goal ... (came) in the 70th minute (when) the sensational 18 year-old made it 3-0 with a thunderous shot from 25 yards which flew into the top corner of Edwards' goal."

Description of Oshitola'a goal from report in next home programme (v Farnborough Town):

"Barnet rounded off their win with a fantastic solo goal by Toby Oshitola. After gaining the ball near the half way line, Toby dribbled past one man, then cut inside another before unleashing a sensational drive that rocketed into the top left corner of the net leaving the keeper abosolutely no chance. It was a quite remarkable goal and surely must be an early candidate for goal of the season."

Description of Strevens' goal from report in next home programme (v Morecambe):

"After a long ball forward by Gledhill, Agogo managed to scamper down the right wing towards the corner flag. He held the ball up well and laid a good ball back to Gledhill, who produced a sweet right foot cross into the area. The ball appeared to have been missed by Stevens, but he managed to adjust his body quickly and produce an acrobatic bicycle kick, sending the ball flying into the net off the right hand post. The away end erupted into a cacaphony of noise, while Strevens reeled of towards the corner flag knowing that he had just scored a contender for gola of the season."

The third and subsequent places are linked to the appropriate report on this site.

  Player of the Year - Junior Agogo


  • 2nd Greg Heald
  • 3rd Mark Gower
  • 4th Danny Naisbitt
  Lester Finch Award - Kevin Mullen

This award is chosen by the BFCSA committee and is named after Lester Finch. Finch played for Barnet from 1928 to 1953, making 476 appearances and scoring 226 goals. Afterwards he served on the BFCSA committee for many years.

The award recognises someone who has contributed to Barnet FC in some way, especially - but not necessarily - non-playing staff.

Kevin is described in the programme as the Marketing Manager and Programme Editor. He also runs the club's official site and would probably sweep the floor if given a broom (if you know what I mean).

He is pictured here being handed his award by outgoing BFCSA chairman, Steve Percy.

  Norwegian Supporters' Player of the Year

Also presented was the Norwegian Supporters' Club's player of the year award.

This was won by Junior Agogo, and is pictured here with one of them.

  Homepage > 0203 > Articles > Back To Top